PLESSY VS FERGUSON

Posted By Bill Payer on Jan 26, 2022 | 0 comments


Here’s a virtual even February 2 you may be interested in…from the Gilder Lehrman Institute. It’s free. Sign up details below.

Witnessing History: The Pardon of Homer Plessy

Join the Gilder Lehrman Institute and the Office of Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards for a special panel discussion highlighting the first posthumous pardon in state history of Mr. Homer A. Plessy, the history of the Plessy v. Ferguson case, and this current chapter in America’s long history of race relations and the fight for civil rights. The program will feature Governor Edwards, Professor Randall L. Kennedy (Harvard Law School), and descendants of Homer Plessy and Judge John Ferguson, moderated by a member of the Institute’s staff. There will be time during the program for questions submitted live over Zoom webinars.

Date: Wednesday, February 2

Time: 6:00 p.m.–7:00 p.m. ET (5:00–6:00 p.m. CT; 4:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m. MT; 3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m. PT)

Panel Speakers: John Bel Edwards (the 56th Governor of Louisiana), Randall L. Kennedy (Michael R. Klein Professor of Law, Harvard Law School), Keith Plessy (descendant of Homer Plessy and President of the Plessy & Ferguson Foundation), and Phoebe Ferguson (descendant of Judge John Howard Ferguson and Executive Director of the Plessy & Ferguson Foundation)

To sign up RSVP HERE

FOR MORE ON PLESSY VS FERGUSON CHECK OUT THESE LINKS:


Plessy v. Ferguson | Summary, Ruling, Background, & Impact
Brittanica.com

Plessy v. Ferguson | Oyez Oyez.org

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.